Planet Boelex, “Raja”

There are few artists that I hold dear enough that I instantly must have every release they put out as soon as I hear word of it.  Planet Boelex is one of those.

From the first time I heard his “Sinking in the Soup EP” in 2005 I was captivated by his intricate and fragile rhythms so seamlessly blended with captivating melodies and atmospheres.

Over time the Planet Boelex sound grown and matured.  Planet Boelex delighted me with the Khavi Collective release, “Suunta”.  His collaborative work with Mosaik (another one of my favorite artists) on “Sisumies” was a sonic snapshot in time I’ll never forget.  Seriously.

On “Raja”, Planet Boelex flexes his creative power again with unsurprisingly beautiful and touching works.  The highlight (if one had to be picked) from the release titled , “Not From Here”, is achingly touching with smooth and thick beats and intimate vocal work with Lisa’s antenna.

“Raja” is an absolutely stunning addition to the Planet Boelex discography and once again begs the question “Why are you giving this away for free?!”  I honestly feel guilty after having listened to this music for over 5 years without paying a penny…

Go have a listen, spread the word.  Believe me, this is worth it.

http://planet.boelex.org/

Leave a Reply

